top of page
  • Writer's pictureShannon Cantrell

The Messes We Make

A few days ago I was going through my morning routine, walked through the dining room and saw where Harleigh had dumped her backpack in the floor. I smiled, shook my head and thought, "just another mess to clean up." If you have kids you know that your life is ALL about clean up. Constant and never ending clean up. Picking up toys, cleaning rooms, doing laundry, washing dirty hands and faces etc... And it doesn't matter how old they get either. As I continued to walk toward the kitchen through this mess I thought to myself, wonder how many times God has looked down, shook his head and said, "Well, she's made another mess of things, let's clean it up."

Ask yourself a couple things. Do you feel like you are living in a mess? How much clutter do you have in your life? Ya know what, let's just be real about it - REAL LIFE IS MESSY sometimes. We are all real people working through real stuff. The beautiful thing about it is that God can make miracles out of the messes. He can turn the mess into a message. And if you think your mess is too big to give to God, I can promise you NOTHING is too big for God.


Messing up is inevitable. We all do it. Even the best of Christians mess up. But what matters more than the mess, is how we respond to it.


For those of you in the middle of chaos and desperately looking for some peace, remember, to Jesus you are a beautiful mess. He is wanting you to finally reach out to Him so He can help you clean up. Thankfully we are washable, no matter how dirty we are, how long we have wallowed in the mess. Jesus is there for us. 2 Samuel 22:20 says, "He lead me to a place of safety; he rescued me because he delights in me." God DELIGHTS in you. That speaks volumes to me. And it should you too. He delights in us. He wants to help us. We just have to allow Him to.


I'm going to leave you with this...


If you really want to learn about grace, take notes from a toddler. They witness our impatience, our frustration, and our moodiness... yet they forgive us, no questions asked. They see us at our absolute worst... yet we're still their favorite humans in the entire world.


God delights in us, He loves us enough to show us grace over and over.


John 16:33, Romans 15:13, Romans 8:28, John 14:27, Psalm 29:11, Zephaniah 3:17, Matthew 6:26, 1 Corinthians 2:9, Philippians 4:6-7, Proverbs 3:5-6




66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page